Beginning Population Studies

Beginning Population Studies

By David Lucas and others

The first edition of the textbook Beginning Australian Population Studies in 1984 was intended for students in Australia who needed a rapid overview of the non-mathematical aspects of demography. A second edition in 1994 is now out-of-print. These editions have been translated into several Asian languages and used in overseas Universities. A third edition is now in preparation and draft Chapters will be added below as they become available:

The following draft chapters or sections are available now in PDF format, in no particular order, and are copyright protected.  

Chapter Lead Author
General Sources (PDF 24KB), 2018 David Lucas, Michael E. Roettger, Zhongwei Zhao david.lucas@anu.edu.au
The Demography of Conflict (PDF 112KB), October 2018, Helen Ware hware@une.edu.au
Historical Demography (PDF 134KB), October 2018, Cathy Day cathy.day@anu.edu.au
Fertility measurement (PDF 216KB), April 2019, Rebecca Kippen rebecca.Kippen@monash.edu
Morbidity (PDF 349KB), May 2019, Tim Adair  timothy.adair@unimelb.edu.au
Epidemics (PDF 185KB), June 2019, Jack Caldwell, Tambri Housen tambri.housen@anu.edu.au 
Population data (PDF 201KB), July 2019, Barbara Edgar, Cathy Day, Steven McEachern cathy.day@anu.edu.au
Population patterns in small island developing states (PDF 426KB), January 2020, Christine McMurray chris.mcmurray.11@anu.edu.au
The labour force (PDF 396KB), February 2020, Ariane J. Utomo ariane.utomo@unimelb.edu.au

Image gallery

Updated:  24 February 2020/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications